, , , , ,

Denya Hankerson Sworn-In:  Electoral Board:

On February 1, 2018, Denya Hankerson became our Committee’s second representative on the Prince George Electoral Board when she was sworn-in by Bishop Knott, Circuit Court Clerk.  She joins our other member, Lillian Boyd, on the Electoral Board.  There is one Republican on the Board, Mrs. Barbara Tabb.

We had hoped the swearing-in could be in the courtroom, but there were preliminary motions occuring there in a murder trial.  YIKES!

Each locality’s Electoral Board is responsible for supervising elections in the county, training of election officials, and ascertaining the vote after every election.  It is a time consuming and terribly important job, especially in these times.

Thank you Sharon Goertz:

Sharon Goertz Swearing In

Sharon Goertz 

We thank Sharon Goertz, who served as one of our representatives on the Board for a number of years.  Sharon, a writer, has been stalwart in attendance to her duties while on the Board and we appreciate her selfless service.  Denya replaces Sharon on the Electoral Board.


Election of Committee Officers:

Tonight, February 1, at 6 pm, the Committee will meet to elect officers and to attend to other business matters.  The meeting is at 6450 Administration Drive, Prince George Human Services Building, 1st Floor Meeting Room.  See you there.

Meeting of 4th CD Committee Sat, Feb. 3:

The 4th CD Committee of the Democratic Party of Virginia will meet on Feb 3 at Noon at the Virginia Diner in Wakefield for the primary purpose of determining the selection method of our 4th Congressional District Nominee.  The meeting is open to the public, and you are welcome.  Please let Carol know if you plan to attend so that she can assure adequate seating.  Meals can be ordered at the individual’s cost.